Hoilman, Woods Named to Lowe's Senior Class Award

Friday, February 25, 2011

MACON, Ga. - ETSU's Paul Hoilman and Belmont's Nate Woods both earned nominations for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award making the Atlantic Sun one of ten conferences to have two nominees.

Hoilman, the 2011 Atlantic Sun Preseason Player of the Year, hit .600 in the opening series against Marist driving in five runs on six hits including a double and home run. Every year of his college career, Hoilman earned Atlantic Sun Conference All-Academic honors.

Woods maintains a 3.58 GPA in information systems management. He has been a Dean's List honoree five times and was named Atlantic Sun Conference All-Academic twice.

Woods has been a leader on the Belmont baseball field since his freshman season in Nashville. His leadership abilities have grown each year and he was elected team captain prior to the start of the 2011 campaign.

The 2011 candidate class includes 15 student-athletes with cumulative grade point averages of better than a 3.5, including three with perfect 4.0 GPAs. Seven are from teams ranked in the Collegiate Baseball preseason top 35 poll.

Thirty NCAA® baseball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the winner June 24 at the NCAA College World Series® in Omaha.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts five of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.