A-Sun Men's Basketball Season Previews: Jacksonville

Wednesday, November 02, 2011

MACON, Ga. - The 2011-12 Atlantic Sun Conference Men's Basketball Season gets underway on Friday, Nov. 11th and prior to that date the A-Sun office will preview each of the ten member institutions.

Jacksonville's Terry Norvelle sits down with the Dolphins Head Coach Cliff Warren and Preseason All-Conference member Delwan Graham in the JU season preview.

Men's Basketball Capsule
Coaches Poll Predicted Finish: 4th
Media Poll Predicted Finish: 3rd
2010-11 Overall Record (A-Sun): 20-12 (13-7; 3rd)
Season Schedule // Roster

• The Dolphins lost the top-two scorers from last season in Ayron Hardy (12.3) and Travis Cohn (10.0). Hardy also led the team in total rebounds (197), steals per game (2.0) and total blocks (31) en route to winning the A-Sun Defensive Player of the Year award. Cohn led the team in three-point percentage at .369 with 38 on the season.
• Jacksonville defeated East Carolina in the CollegeInsider.com Tournament last season, which made JU the first A-Sun team since 1996-97 to earn postseason victories in back-to-back seasons as the Dolphins defeated Arizona State in the 2010 NIT.
• Head Coach Cliff Warren and the Dolphins return five of the top-seven scorers from last season led by Keith McDouglad (9.1) and Delwan Graham (9.0). Combined with Russell Powell (7.5), Glenn Powell (6.2) and Tevin Galvin (6.1) point production from last season the five returners made up 55.7 percent of last year's offensive production.
• To go along with their postseason victory last year, Jacksonville also earned two victories against BCS-level programs as they went on the road to Auburn and Florida to defeat the Southeastern Conference (SEC) opponents.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.