FGCU Moves On After #ASunMBB Quarterfinal Win vs. UNF

Wednesday, March 06, 2013

MACON, Ga. - The second-seeded FGCU Eagles advanced to the 2013 General Shale Atlantic Sun Men's Basketball Championship Semifinals for the second-straight year with a 73-63 victory vs. No. 7 North Florida in the opening quarterfinal game.

Second-Team All-Conference member, Chase Fieler led the Eagles in both points (22) and rebounds (9), while teammate Bernard Thompson, the A-Sun Defensive Player of the Year, added 18 points with three steals.

 Atlantic Sun Insider: FGCU's Thompson Exhibits a Complete Game

The Eagles stretched their lead to as large as 12 points with two minutes remaining in the second half. The A-Sun Player of the Year, Sherwood Brown finished the quarterfinal with 14 points and seven rebounds. The win moves the Eagles to 22-10 on the season, which increased the Eagles' Division I record for victories.

UNF's Parker Smith, a first-team all-conference selection, led all scorers with 29 points as the senior sharp-shooter hit 7-of-9 three pointers. Smith scored 13 of his points in the first half, while adding 16 in the second stanza with five trifectas. The senior ends his season with 117 three-pointers; the most in conference single-season history. His 303 career three-pointers are second-most in league history.

Travis Wallace was best on the Ospreys for rebounds with eight, while Will Wilson dished out six assists to tie FGCU's Brett Comer for the game-high. The Ospreys finish the season with a 13-19 record.

The Eagles will now face the winner of the Stetson - ETSU contest, which will be played on Thursday at 2:30 p.m.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.