Bears Post Largest #ASunMBB Victory in Program History

Wednesday, March 06, 2013

MACON, Ga. - The top-seeded Mercer Bears defeated No. 8 seed Lipscomb, 82-48, in the 2013 General Shale Atlantic Sun Men's Basketball Championship Quarterfinals for the largest tournament win in program history.

Second-Team All-Conference member, Langston Hall dished out a game-high 10 assist to tie his career-high, while adding a team-high 12 points for Mercer. Fellow second-team selection, Travis Smith added 10 points, while Monty Brown contributed 11 in the Bears' victory.

 Atlantic Sun Insider: Mercer Big Men a Big Help in Quarterfinal Round

The win at Hawkins Arena marks the 16th straight for Mercer as the Bears improved to 14-0 at home this season. Mercer's home-winning streak now ranks seventh-best in the nation. The 34-point margin of victory moves past the Bears' 101-76 victory vs. FIU in 1996 as the largest in the program's A-Sun history.

Lipscomb's Deonte Alexander led all scorers with 15 points, while Khion Sankey grabbed nine rebounds in the loss. The A-Sun Freshman of the Year, Stephen Hurt was held to five rebounds and two rebounds. LU's Martin Smith added 10 points.

With the win, Mercer plays on Friday at 5:30 p.m. against the winner of the No. 4 Jacksonville vs. No. 5 USC Upstate contest.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.