Strong Second Half vs. ETSU Moves Hatters Into Semifinals

Thursday, March 07, 2013

MACON, Ga. - The third-seeded Stetson Hatters outscored No. 6 ETSU, 46-22, in the second half of the 2013 General Shale Atlantic Sun Men's Basketball Championship Quarterfinal for a 67-46 victory.

The triumph marks the first win for the Hatters in the A-Sun Championship since 2006 as Stetson was appearing in the conference tournament for the first time since 2009. Stetson (15-15; 11-7) held ETSU to 25.4 percent shooting from the field (15-of-59) and 4-of-23 from beyond-the-arc.

 Atlantic Sun Insider: First Things First - Stetson's Return to the A-Sun Championship

Stetson's Willie Green collected a double-double with 13 points and 13 rebounds, while Adam Pegg, the A-Sun Scholar-Athlete of the Year and First Team All-Conference member, tallied a game-high 17 points with nine rebounds.

Jarvis Jones, a second-team all-conference selection, tied with Lester Wilson, an all-freshman member, for the ETSU lead in points at 11. The Bucs' John Walton was best on the squad in rebounds with nine. ETSU finishes the season with a 11-22 record.

The Hatters advance to play No. 2 FGCU in semifinals on Friday at 8 PM EST and can be seen on CSS. The two teams split the regular-season series with both squads defending their home courts.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.