Spartans Earn Program's First #ASunMBB Championship Win

Thursday, March 07, 2013

MACON, Ga. - USC Upstate captured the program's first win in the General Shale Atlantic Sun Men's Basketball Championship as the fifth-seeded Spartans took down No. 4 Jacksonville, 76-62. Upstate (16-16; 9-9) was making its second appearance in the conference championship.

The Spartans' historic win was guided by First Team All-Conference member, Torrey Craig and Ty Greene as the duo combined for 31 points. Craig went for 17 points to lead all scorers, while also contributing six rebounds and three blocks. Greene hit two three-pointers en route to 14 points.

Posting an all-around game was Upstate's Jodd Maxey with nine points, six rebounds, three assists, three blocks and three steals. Babatunde Olumuyiwa joined his teammates in double figures for points with 11 as Adrian Rodgers also registered 11 points.

 Atlantic Sun Insider: Olumuyiwa's Big Night Helps Spartans Into the Semifinals

The Spartans' top rebounder, Ricardo Glenn grabbed seven rebounds to tie for the game-high, while netting 12 points.

Jacksonville's Jarvis Haywood, an A-Sun All-Freshman member, tallied 16 points to lead JU in scoring. Senior Glenn Powell added 13 points for the Dolphins with six rebounds. Javon Dawson added 11 points in the loss as Jacksonville fell to 14-18 on the year.

USC Upstate now faces top-seeded and host, Mercer, in the semifinals at 5:30 p.m. on Friday on CSS.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.