Eagles Make History; Earn NCAA Tournament Win in Debut

Saturday, March 23, 2013

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - The 15th-seeded FGCU Eagles upset the No. 2 Georgetown Hoyas for the first NCAA Tournament win in program history in the Eagles' debut with a 78-68 decision. FGCU improves to 25-10 on the year and extended its winning streak to six games.

FGCU's upset as the 15-seed is the seventh victory vs. a two seed in NCAA history. The 10-point margin is the second largest for a 15 seed trailing only Coppin State's 13-point win vs. South Carolina in 1997.

The A-Sun Player of the Year, Sherwood Brown led all scorers with 24 points, while adding nine rebounds. Bernard Thompson, the A-Sun Defensive Player of the Year, added 23 points and seven rebounds. The Eagles outscored the Hoyas by eight points (54-46) in the second half after owning a 24-22 advantage at halftime.

The Eagles' victory is the fourth NCAA Tournament win in conference history and the first since 2001.

Brett Comer, the A-Sun Championship MVP, posted 12 points and 10 assists; his sixth double-digit assist game this season. Second Team All-Conference member, Chase Fieler joined Eddie Murray with nine points in the victory.

For the third-straight season, two conferences teams earned postseason wins as FGCU's triumph vs. Georgetown coupled with Mercer's victory at Tennessee in the NIT. It also marks the fifth-straight postseason in which at least one A-Sun team won in a postseason tournament.

Georgetown's Markel Starks led the Hoyas in scoring with 23 points, while Big East Player of the Year, Otto Porter Jr., was held to 13 points on 5-of-17 shooting.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.