A-Sun Regular Season, Championship Hoops Return to CSS

Tuesday, October 01, 2013

MACON, Ga. – Atlantic Sun Conference basketball continues to shine in CSS (Comcast Sports Southeast) programming, as the A-Sun returns to the network for a dozen games that include the 2013-14 A-Sun/CSS Friday Night Game of the Week and A-Sun championship coverage.

The partnership enters its 12th season and will feature some of the best rivalry games in the conference while continuing its superb tournament coverage. Once again the A-Sun’s Friday Night Game of the Week broadcasts will also be available via ESPN3 and the WatchESPN app.

“The A-Sun’s longstanding partnership with CSS, and in particular our involvement with the Friday Night Game of the Week, has become a valuable tradition that enables us to consistently showcase our outstanding conference basketball,” stated A-Sun Commissioner Ted Gumbart. “Plus, we look forward once again to working with the quality announce team of Matt Stewart and Sonny Smith. I am pleased to continue shining this spotlight on the outstanding student-athletes and institutions of the A-Sun.”

“CSS is pleased to continue our long-standing partnership with the A-Sun conference,” says CSS Vice President and General Manager Mark Fuhrman. “We look forward to bringing viewers another great season of A-Sun basketball on Friday nights.”

2013-14 Atlantic Sun/CSS Basketball Broadcast Schedule
Date Game
Time (EST)
Jan. 5 FGCU at Stetson 1 p.m.
Jan. 10 Kennesaw State at Mercer 7 p.m.
Jan. 17 Jacksonville at North Florida 7 p.m.
Jan. 24 Lipscomb at Northern Kentucky 7 p.m.
Jan. 31 Stetson at FGCU 7 p.m.
Feb. 7 Mercer at Kennesaw State 7 p.m.
Feb. 14 North Florida at Jacksonville 7 p.m.
Feb. 21 Northern Kentucky at Lipscomb 7 p.m.
Feb. 28 ETSU at USC Upstate 7 p.m.
Mar. 6 A-Sun Men's Semifinals 6:30 p.m. & 8:30 p.m.
Mar. 16 A-Sun Women's Final 3 p.m.

The team of Matt Stewart and Sonny Smith returns to handle play-by-play duties and color commentary, respectively, for the Friday night broadcasts. Stewart is in his seventh season calling A-Sun basketball, while Smith returns for his 12th season.

Before the Friday Night package begins, FGCU will visit Stetson on Jan. 5 in a match-up that features the two top scoring teams from last season. The Eagles and Hatters will also do battle as part of the Friday Night series, as FGCU hosts Stetson on Jan. 31.

The package opens on Jan. 10 and renews one of the conference’s newest rivalries as Kennesaw State heads 80 miles south to battle Mercer. The Bears will return to Kennesaw, where last season the Owls pulled the upset, as part of the package on Feb. 7.

The Friday night package would not be complete without the River City Rumble match-ups between North Florida and Jacksonville, and once again both cross-town rivalry games are included. Jacksonville faces North Florida at UNF Arena on Jan. 17, with the re-match scheduled for February 14.

A-Sun fans were introduced to Northern Kentucky via the Friday Night package last year, and the Norse return to battle Lipscomb and new head coach Casey Alexander twice again on CSS. NKU hosts the Bisons on Jan. 24, then travel to Nashville for the return game on Feb. 21.

Taking their place in the package’s finale for the second straight year are USC Upstate and ETSU, as both teams will be looking to improve upon their seasons a year ago. The Spartans host the Bucs on Feb. 28. Postseason coverage of the A-Sun Basketball Championships will include the Men’s Semifinals on Thursday, March 6.

CSS will also carry the women’s basketball championship final on March 16.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun footprint reaches into seven of the top media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.