Gilbert Kemboi Named A-Sun's Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Thursday, November 10, 2011

MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun Conference honored Gilbert Kemboi of University of South Carolina Upstate as the Men’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year to highlight the league’s inaugural Academic All-Conference team.

A 2011 First Team All-Atlantic Sun member and Runner of the Year winner, Kemboi posted a time of 24:27.01 in the 8,000-meter run- the fourth-fastest time in A-Sun history - to win his second-straight individual title at the A-Sun Men’s Cross Country Championships. He also claimed an individual title at the Upstate Invitational on Oct. 15, a second-place finish at the Charlotte Invitational, and is an eight-time Runner of the Week honoree, an A-Sun record.

The A-Sun introduced the new sport-by-sport Academic All-Conference teams this fall to recognize student-athletes who embody the conference’s mission of Building Winners for Life. All the members of the team boast a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (GPA) or better and participated in at least half of their team’s matches.

Gilbert Kemboi, USC Upstate

Junior | GPA: 3.41 | Major: Nursing | Hometown: Eldoret, Kenya
• Recorded two wins and a second-place finish in 2011
• Eight-time Runner of the Week award winner
• Two-time defending A-Sun cross country Runner of the Year

*Gilbert Kemboi, USC Upstate (Junior | GPA: 3.41 | Nursing)
*Jacob Law, Mercer (Junior | GPA: 3.89 | Mechanical Engineering)
*Argeo Cruz, FGCU (Sophomore | GPA: 3.59 | Civil Engineering)
Geoff Musick, Lipscomb (Junior | GPA: 3.94 | Biochemistry)
Isaiah Greer, Lipscomb (Junior | GPA: 3.62 | Math/Mathematical Engineering)
Matt Miller, Belmont (Junior | GPA: 3.36 | History)
Jaakko Nieminen, Kennesaw State (Senior | GPA: 3.57 | Business)
* - Denotes a unanimous selection

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.