Atlantic Sun Summer Sessions: Cross Country

Monday, June 17, 2013

MACON, Ga. – Cross Country jump-started the 2012-13 Atlantic Sun Championship Calendar as USC Upstate and Lipscomb won back-to-back A-Sun team titles with FGCU serving as host at the Buckingham Course in Fort Myers.

Gilbert Kemboi paced the Spartans to a second title as he collected his third-straight individual title and becoming third-ever to win three meets. Kemboi’s time of 24:16.7 is the third-fastest time at the A-Sun Championship, as he now owns three of the top four times in league history.

Along with Kemboi, four different USC Upstate runners finished in the top 20, while three garnered all-conference status.

Kennesaw State’s Nabil Hamid finished second in the A-Sun Championship for the third time in his career with a time of 24:43.8. This marked the fourth time in Hamid’s career as an Owl that he finished in the top-three.

Three Lipscomb men’s harriers made the All-Freshmen Team with Jared Wingerter collecting Freshman of the Year Honors after crossing the line 23rd overall with a time of 26.06.8.

On the women’s side, the Bisons were led by a consistent core of harriers as they placed six runners in the top-15 of the meet. LU’s junior leader, Dani Walker paced the Bisons and crossed the line third overall. LU collected 40 points in the meet secure a 23-point win over second place North Florida.

Jacksonville’s Joane Pierre crossed the line first for the women with a time of 17:17.5, six seconds ahead of the Ospreys’ Shelby Kittrell.

ETSU’s Katie Hirko led all freshman in the championship meet with a fourth-place finish to earn All-Conference First Team honors and Freshman of the Year.

In the NCAA Regional meet, three A-Sun student-athletes qualified for the NCAA National Championship after posting top-ten finishes in their respective region.

Competing in the Southeast Regional in Charlotte, N.C., Kemboi ran 29:47.31 to finish sixth overall and grab the final individual automatic qualifying slot. He also earned all-region honors for his efforts.

In Tallahassee, Kennesaw State’s Nabil Hamid placed seventh overall at the NCAA South Regional to earn a spot in the NCAA Championship for the second-straight year. Overall, seven A-Sun men’s harriers posted top-40 finishes at the South Regional.

Joane Pierre continued her successful senior campaign with a seventh-place finish at the NCAA South Regional, earning an individual berth in the national finale.

Behind the efforts of its outstanding duo of runners Dani Walker and Tessa Hoefle, Lipscomb placed seventh in the team standings in Tallahassee. The Lady Bisons earned the best regional finish in program history. Walker finished 18th overall while Hoefle checked in at 48th.

  • USC Upstate’s Gilbert Kemboi and Lipscomb’s Tessa Hoefle were named the A-Sun Cross Country Scholar-Athletes of the Year.
  • USC Upstate’s Men’s Cross Country squad’s winning score of 49 was just four points better than ETSU (53), who won the title in 2008. The Spartans’ four-point victory is the fourth-lowest margin of victory in A-Sun history and the lowest since 1998.
  • Lipscomb’s women’s team score of 40 is the lowest total since 2004
  • In the NCAA Championship, Kemboi placed 42nd overall with a time of 30:06.9, while Hamid finished 147th in a time of 31:05.0 out of a total of 245 student-athletes competing at the championship.
  • Pierre placed 84th overall out of 253 total entrants with a time of 20:39.8 at the NCAA Championship

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.