Chase Highlights Men's #ASunXC Academic All-Conference

Monday, November 11, 2013

MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun Conference honored ETSU's Adam Chase as the 2013 Atlantic Sun Conference Men's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year to highlight the league’s Academic All-Conference team.

A mathematics major, Chase carries a 4.0 cumulative GPA and was the 2013 A-Sun Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Chase posted a top-30 finish in the A-Sun Championship with a time of 26:28.78.

The A-Sun introduced the new sport-by-sport Academic All-Conference teams in the 2011-12 academic year to recognize student-athletes who embody the conference’s mission of Building Winners for Life. All the members of the team boast a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (GPA) or better and participated in at least half of their team’s games.

Atlantic Sun Men's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Quick Bio Accomplishments
 Adam Chase

• Junior
• Kingsport, Tenn.
• Mathematics

• Achieved a 4.00 GPA as an Mathematics Major
• Second A-Sun Scholar-Athlete Honor of his collegiate career          
• Integral part of the Buccaneers cross country season in four meets
• Ran to a top-30 finish in the A-Sun Championship
• Led the Bucs in the Virginia Tech Invite
• ETSU's second-fastest finisher in two meets this season

Geoff Musick, Lipscomb (Senior | GPA: 3.75 | Biochemistry )
Tim Muller, Lipscomb (Senior | GPA: 3.52 | Mechanical Engineering)
Jared Wingerter, Lipscomb (Sophomore | GPA: 3.67 | Biology)
Brady Holmer, Northern Kentucky (Sophomore | GPA: 3.78 | Exercise Science)
Andrew Epifanio, Stetson (Senior | GPA: 3.98 | Psychology/Philosophy)
Ross Oden, USC Upstate (Senior | GPA: 3.40 | Chemistry)

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.