KSU Opens A-Sun Spring Schedule at Arizona Intercollegiate

Monday, January 28, 2013

The Kennesaw State men’s golf team opens its spring 2013 season today at the Arizona Intercollegiate, hosted by the University of Arizona at the Golf Club at Vistoso in Tuscon. The 54-hole event begins today with 36 holes and concludes on Tuesday with the final 18.

The Owls' lineup includes Johnathan Klotz (75.83), Jimmy Beck (71.92), Ben Greene (74.13), Peder Lunde Hermansson (75.53) and Austin Vick (75.92). Beck is ranked No, 36 in the current GolfStat rankings.

The Arizona Intercollegiate hosts 10 top-100 programs in the Golfstat.com rankings, including four top-25 teams, and two top-five teams in No. 1 California and No. 5 New Mexico. The entire field includes: No. 72 Arizona State, No.1 California, No. 99 Cal State Fullerton, No. 79 Central Arkansas, No. 62 Kennesaw State, No. 24 Liberty, No. 5 New Mexico, No. 174 New Mexico State, No. 133 Pepperdine, No. 96 Santa Clara, No. 46 TCU, No. 247 UC-Riverside, No. 121 Utah, No. 104 UTEP, and host No. 83 Arizona.

Last year, the Arizona Intercollegiate was won by host school Arizona as the Bearcats shot a 54-total of 277-277-281=835, -17. The individual medalist honors were won by John Catlin of New Mexico with a 203, -10 total. Both Catlin and Arizona will be back to defend their titles.

The last time the Owls were in competition they won the Pinetree Intercollegiate by 24-strokes over Ball State to claim their first title of the 2012-13 season. Sophomore Jimmy Beck doubled up by winning the individual medalist with a seven-under-par, 209, that included a second round of 65, (-7) that set the Pinetree Country Club course record. The win gave Beck three top-five finishes in the fall and he picked up a pair of 2012-13 A-Sun Men's Golfer of the Week honors (on Sept. 26 and Oct. 24) as well. Fellow Owl Ben Greene also picked a Golfer of the Week honor on Sept. 12.

The Kennesaw State men’s golf program has been one of the most decorated teams at KSU in recent history. Capturing the Atlantic Sun Conference title in 2011, the team finished third at the NCAA Regional in Ocala, Fla., and advanced to the program's first NCAA Championship in Stillwater, Okla. In 2012, the team received Kennesaw State’s first ever at-large bid to an NCAA Regional where the team finished ninth at the Ann Arbor Regional. Led by fourth-year head coach Jay Moseley, the 2011 A-Sun Men’s Coach of the Year, the Owls are looking for their third consecutive NCAA appearance in 2013. All 36 holes of the 15-team Arizona Intercollegiate can be followed live on the internet by logging on to www.golfstatresults.com.

KSU is the lone A-Sun team playing this week, as five teams – ETSU, FGCU, Jacksonville, North Florida and USC Upstate – begin their spring seasons next week.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun footprint reaches into seven of the top media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.