Hatters' Peterson Earns First Career A-Sun Weekly Golf Honor

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

MACON, Ga. – Stetson freshman Andrew Peterson finished seven shots off the lead and finished eighth at the Gary Freeman Invitational to earn his first career A-Sun Men's Golfer of the Week honor.

MEN’S GOLFER OF THE WEEK: Andrew Peterson, Stetson (Fr. – Andover, Minn. – Political Science)

• First career A-Sun Golfer of the Week award

• Earned his first collegiate top-10 finish at the Gary Freeman Invitational

• Led the Hatters for the tournament in his sixth collegiate event and first of the spring

• Helped Stetson to a third-place finish in the 12-team field at the Gary Freeman Invitational

• Used a second-round score of 72 (E) to move into contention and closed with a 75 to earn a tie for 8th

• Finished the tournament at 224, seven shots off the lead

2012-13 Atlantic Sun Men's Golfer of the Week
Date Golfer of the Week
Member Institution
Sept. 12 Ben Greene Kennesaw State
Sept. 19
Adam Goins
USC Upstate
Sept. 26 MJ McGuire, James Beck III North Florida, Kennesaw State
Oct. 3
Edward Figueroa
Oct. 10 Corey Richmond Northern Kentucky
Oct. 10
James Beale
Oct. 24 Jimmy Beck Kennesaw State
Oct. 31
Dustin Dingus
Nov. 8 Adam Goins USC Upstate
Feb. 6
Peder Lunde Hermansson
Kennesaw State
Feb. 13 MJ McGuire North Florida
Feb. 20
Andrew Peterson

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.