Dale, Schroeder and Figueroa Highlight Men's Golf Awards

Wednesday, May 01, 2013

MACON, Ga. - After repeating as the Atlantic Sun Conference Men's Golf Team Champion, North Florida's Sean Dale and Head Coach Scott Schroeder also earned their second straight postseason honors and FGCU's Edward Figueroa concluded a successful season as Freshman of the Year.

Dale, a senior, was voted the 2013 A-Sun Golfer of the Year by the league coaches for the third time in his career. The latest recognition earns him the distinction of being the only player to earn the honor three times in A-Sun history. The Jacksonville, Fla. native was ranked as high as No. 2 nationally by Golfweek and currently remains in the Top-10 at No. 9. He joins a pair of teammates on the All-Conference First Team.

Joining Dale on the first team from UNF was Kevin Phelan and MJ Maguire. For Phelan it marks his fourth all-conference honor, making him one of only only six golfers in A-Sun history to do so. Phelan and Dale also both adorn the first team for the second-straight season. Maguire was the 2013 medalist at the A-Sun Championship, and he earns his second All-Conference honor.

Kennesaw State sophomore Jimmy Beck, who joined Maguire on the 2012 All-Freshman Team, also earns his second All-Conference honor. Beck ganered a win and was a three-time A-Sun Player of the Week this season. Mercer's Hans Reimers, a Top-10 finisher at the A-Sun Championship, earned his first All-Conference honor to complete the First Team.

FGCU's Edward Figueroa is the third straight Eagle to earn membership on the All-Freshman Team and becomes the second in three years to claim Freshman of the Year honors. Figueroa finished in a tie for sixth at the A-Sun Championship for his fourth Top-10 and eighth Top-25 finish of the season.

Ospreys Head Coach Scott Schroeder earned his fourth A-Sun Coach of the Year plaque, which is second-most in conference history.

Making the all-conference second team for the second time is North Florida's Joey Petronio, who was a second-team selection and unanimous All-Freshman Team selection a year ago. Figueroa joins Petronio, along with four other first-time selections in KSU's Peder Lunde Hermansson, ETSU's Adrian Meronk and Rhys Pugh and Mercer's Trey Rule.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.