#ASunMGolf Update: UNF's Phelan Begins Play at Irish Open

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

KILDARE, Ireland -- Former North Florida golf standout Kevin Phelan continues his whirlwind golf tour this weekend beginning play Thursday morning in the Irish Open at Carton House Golf Club.

Phelan, who recently completed a decorated four-year career with the Ospreys, returns to the links for the first time since making the cut at the 2013 U.S. Open on June 13-16.

A native of Waterford, Ireland, Phelan's other recent golf successes have included claiming medalist honors in is U.S. Open sectional qualifier, representing Team Europe in the Palmer Cup competition and helping lead UNF to a first-ever NCAA Regional team championship and 18th-place finish at the NCAA Championship.

One of just four amateurs selected to compete in the Irish Open, Phelan joins a field that includes top golf performers like: Rory McIlroy, Darren Clarke, Graeme McDowell, Padraig Harrington, Paul Casey and Michael Campbell. In addition, former Florida Gator standout Tyler McCumber will also play in the event.

Phelan begins play at the Irish Open off Tee No. 10 at 9:10 a.m. GMT (4:10 a.m. ET) on Thursday alongside playing partners Steve Webster and Jorge Campillo. The trio is scheduled for a 2:10 p.m. GMT (9:10 a.m. ET) tee time on Friday on Hole No. 1.

The 72-hole event runs through Sunday with the field cut following 36-holes of play.