Men's Indoor Track & Field Championship Kicks Off Friday

Thursday, February 21, 2013

MACON, Ga. - The eighth annual Atlantic Sun Men’s Indoor Track and Field Championship is set to start February 22nd in Johnson City, Tenn.

Kennesaw State return as the 2012 reigning indoor champion, the Owls have claimed three championship titles (2008, 2010, 2012).

A-Sun Men's Track & Field Notes (#ASunTF):
  • KSU finished the 2012 meet with 177 points, just five points ahead of ETSU who has claimed the other four indoor championship titles (2006, 2007, 2009, 2011). The Owls look to find success in new athlete’s after graduating the four first-place finishers from the 2012 championship.
  • ETSU returns three gold medal winners from the 2012 championship with Ifrish Alberg (60m), Tim O’Dell (400m) and Jason Johnson (triple jump). Alberg has the fastest 60m time in the A-Sun this season (6.82), while teammate O’Dell hold the top mark in the 400m (48.84).
  • USC Upstate has finished in the top-four three times in the last four years. Gilbert Kemboi will look to claim his fourth 5000m title, becoming just the second A-Sun indoor track athlete to win an event four times (Jerome McKinzie, Kennesaw State/High Jump, 2007-10). Kemboi is also looking to take first place in the 3000m for the third year.
  • The Spartans Kenny Sugishita has the opportunity to repeat as champion in the shot put and the weight throw. No one has ever accomplished that feet.
  • North Florida’s David Shepherd currently holds the best height in the pole vault this season (4.90) and has the chance to claim his third A-Sun indoor pole vaulting title.
  • The Ospreys relay teams look strong with a first-place in the 2011 and 2012 in the distance medley relay and a 2012 first-place finish in the 4x400 relay.
  • Lipscomb’s Tucker Peabody is the returning A-Sun indoor champion in the 200m with a time 21.30; just .08 of a second behind the meet record set by Duronal Monal of ETSU in 2010. Peabody holds the fastest time 200m time in the A-Sun this season (21.36)
  • Northern Kentucky will compete in its first A-Sun Indoor Track and Field Championship since joining the conference. NKU’s JJ Webber holds the second fastest time in the 5000m with a time of 15:50.70 behind Upstate’s Gilbert Kemboi.
  • The Owls and the Spartans hold top-marks in five events in the 2013 season with the Buccaneers and the Ospreys following with three apiece.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.