Stetson's Mendoza Headlines Men's Soccer All-Conference Team

Monday, November 07, 2011

MACON, Ga. – Stetson’s Jonathan Mendoza and Luis Ocejo headline the 2011 Atlantic Sun Conference Men’s Soccer Postseason honors and awards, claiming Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors.

The duo become just the second set of teammates to sweep the league’s top individual honors since the Defensive Player of the Year award originated in 2003. Both also earned first team All-Atlantic Sun accolades.

Mendoza’s 10 regular season goals and 25 points led the A-Sun while netting the game-winner three times. The junior midfielder owns eight career game-winners and needs just one more to move into the league’s top-10 all-time. An impressive 47 percent of his career strikes have been the eventual game-winner.

Ocejo consistently marked the league’s top players throughout the season. One of his top performances came in a pair of home matches where he held two of the A-Sun’s most prolific scorers and first team all-conference members Brandon Tarr of Belmont (10 goals) and Garret Pettis of Lipscomb (9 goals) without a shot.

Bob Butehorn earned Coach of the Year honors on the strength of guiding Florida Gulf Coast to the regular season title while Eagles forward Xavier Silva was tabbed Freshman of the Year after scoring three conference game-winners in his first year.

FGCU and Stetson placed a league-best three players on the All-Atlantic Sun first team. Gonzalo de Mujica joined his Stetson teammates on the first team, giving the Hatters three members. Goalkeeper Adam Glick joined Deion Jones and Cristian Raudales as first team selections. Tournament host ETSU landed forwards David Geno and Aaron Schoenfeld on the first team, joined by the high-scoring Music City pair of forwards Tarr and Pettis. JU’s Tobias Hottner and Mercer’s Josh Shutter round out the top honorees.

A full listing of individual award winners, first team all-conference, second team all-conference and all-freshman selections can be found under "Related Links" on this article.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on  Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.