ETSU and Geno Earn Men's Soccer All-Conference Spotlight

Tuesday, November 06, 2012

MACON, Ga. – The 2012 Atlantic Sun Men’s Soccer All-Conference team features an abundance of first-timers as ETSU’s David Geno became the first Buccaneer to claim Player of the Year honors, while Mercer’s Josh Shutter earns the same distinction as the Bear’s first Defensive Player of the Year.

Both also landed on the first team squad as Geno’s 11 goals and seven assists equal the highest point production in the conference since 2008. Shutter guided Mercer to seven shutouts this season – tied for most in the A-Sun – and helped the Bears post the lowest goal against average at 0.88.

FGCU’s Felipe DeSousa took the Freshman of the Year honors after recording six goals – four of which were game-winners. DeSousa follows last year’s winner, FGCU’s Xavier Silva, to give the Eagles the first back-to-back top freshman honors in league history. With a 0.99 goal against average and six shutouts on the season, ETSU’s Ryan Coulter took the first-ever Goalkeeper of the Year honor.

Mercer’s Head Coach Brad Ruzzo picked up his first-ever Coach of the Year honor after guiding the Bears to the two-seed in the 2012 Atlantic Sun Men’s Soccer Championship with an 11-6-1 overall record and 6-2 mark in league play.

The Buccaneers earned five total first team slots as midfielders Itode Fubara and Alesi Osorio joined defender Maximilian Muemken as well as Coulter and Geno on the top squad. Mercer followed the Bucs with three first-team selections (Shutter, Ashani Samuels and Ehjayson Henry).

For the third-straight season, Stetson’s Jonathan Mendoza captured first-team honors, while Jacksonville’s Matheus Saroli joined DeSousa as an all-conference forward selection.

DeSousa and Lipscomb’s Reece Holcombe led the A-Sun All-Freshman team as Holcombe was the lone unanimous selection to the squad. FGCU’s four all-freshmen selections were tops in the league followed by ETSU and North Florida both with two.

The 2012 Atlantic Sun Men’s Soccer Championship kicks off on Wednesday, Nov. 7th with ETSU facing Jacksonville and Lipscomb squaring off against USC Upstate. Match times are set for 4 and 7 p.m. and can be viewed for free on ASun.TV.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.