Stetson's Mendoza Invited to adidas MLS Player Combine

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Stetson senior Jonathan Mendoza has been named one of 54 college seniors invited to participate in the 2013 adidas MLS Player Combine January 11-15 in Fort Lauderdale, as announced by the league on Tuesday.

"This is an extremely well deserved honor for both Johnny and our Stetson University soccer program," Stetson head coach T. Logan Fleck said. "He is a phenomenal example of Stetson University both on the field and in the classroom. I have no doubt that his energy, enthusiasm, and commitment to the game of soccer will make him a great success."

All invited players will be eligible for selection in the 2013 SuperDraft presented by adidas, which will take place on January 17 in Indianapolis at 12:00 p.m. A committee of NCAA Division I coaches from every conference, as well as MLS representatives, selected the invitees.

Mendoza, a three-time First Team All-Atlantic Sun Conference member, the 2011 A-Sun Player of the Year, and an NSCAA All-America selection as a junior, had one of the most decorated careers in Stetson history. The midfielder also helped lead the Hatters to their 2009 A-Sun Championship and trip to the NCAA Tournament as a freshman.

"As Johnny graduates this December, I know he will continue to represent Stetson University in an exemplary fashion and strive to make a significant contribution in any and all paths he chooses to take," Fleck continued. "I will really miss his smile and personality; he is a very positive and funny person with whom you cannot be around for 30 seconds without sharing a smile. We will miss him greatly and wish him nothing but the best!"

The invited players will be divided into four separate teams that are led by prominent collegiate coaches and select youth coaches. Matches will be played as doubleheaders on January 11, 13 and 15. Each match is closely monitored by technical staff from all 19 MLS clubs.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.