FGCU Takes Top Billing in #ASunMSoc Preseason Awards

Thursday, August 15, 2013

MACON, Ga. - In search of its fourth-straight Atlantic Sun Men’s Soccer Regular Season Title, FGCU received seven first-place votes in the Preseason Coaches Poll. Earning the preseason superlative awards were ETSU’s David Geno and Blaike Woodruff as well as Mercer’s Greg Ranjitsingh.

The Eagles secured three spots on the 12-man Preseason All-Conference squad with three sophomores adorning the list. Last year’s Freshman of the Year, Felipe DeSousa, joined defender Aaron Guillen and midfielder Rodrgio Saravia. DeSousa led the league with five game-winning goals last season for FGCU, while he racked up 15 points with seven goals.

ETSU earned the second spot in the coaches poll with 69 points and a first-place vote. Geno, the A-Sun Preseason Player of the Year, looks to defend his title after registering a league-high 30 points and 11 goals last season. Geno’s teammate, Woodruff, picked up the A-Sun Preseason Defensive Player of the Year honor after helping the Buccaneer defense to seven shutouts last season. Midfielder Itode Fubara also represented the Bucs on the preseason team.

Sitting third in the preseason poll is Mercer, who advanced to last year’s A-Sun Championship title game. The Bears placed a league-best four student-athletes on the preseason squad with Ranjitsingh leading the way as the Preseason Goalkeeper of the Year. Joey Heavner, Ryan King and Ehjayson Henry accompanied Ranjitsingh. Last season, Ranjitsingh secured the league's best GAA (0.87) and top save percentage (.838).

Coming off an appearance in the A-Sun Championship Semifinals, Lipscomb landed at No. 4 in the Coaches Poll. Defender Omar Djabi was the lone Bisons representative on the squad. He ranked second on the team in points last season with eight and appeared in all 20 contests.

Following a seven-win campaign in its first year of Division I soccer, Northern Kentucky claimed the No. 5 spot in the preseason rankings ahead of Jacksonville in sixth. The Dolphins’ Matheus Saroli completed the 12-man Preseason All-Conference team. Saroli led JU with 18 points on seven goals in 2012 – both of which ranked second in the league.

USC Upstate, Stetson and North Florida rounded out the Preseason Men’s Soccer Coaches Poll.

For the second-straight year, fans were given the chance to vote for preseason honors through the A-Sun's Facebook page.

David Geno earned the Fan-Voted Preseason Player of the Year honor after securing 103 votes on Facebook, while his teammate Ryan Coulter earned the most votes with 202 as he corralled the Fan-Voted Preseason Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Lipscomb's Omar Djabi, a junior defender, was tabbed the Fan-Voted Defensive Player of the Year in the A-Sun with 171 votes.

About the Vote:
All of the Atlantic Sun’s All-Conference Awards and Honors are voted on by the coaches in a ranking system. Candidates are nominated for all-conference through each individual institution. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players on the ballot. Players are appointed all-conference based on the point value they receive from the league's coaches.