Lipscomb's Djabi Headlines #ASunMSoc All-Conference

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

MACON, Ga. - For the first time in program history, Lipscomb landed the Atlantic Sun Men's Soccer Player of the Year honors as Omar Djabi, the conference's top scorer, claimed the top individual honor. ETSU's Ryan Coulter and Nate Hodges claimed the A-Sun Goalkeeper and Defender of the Year awards, respectively.

Djabi finished the regular season with nine goals, three assists, 21 points and four game-winning goals as he helped Lipscomb (8-8-2) to the No. 3 seed in the A-Sun Championship and most wins since 2010. The junior midfielder also landed on the first team all-conference. Djabi's Head Coach Charles Morrow received the A-Sun Coach of the Year accolade for the first time in his career. The Bisons' three-seed in the conference championship is tied for the best in program history (2008).

Coulter and Hodges guided ETSU to the No. 2 seed in the A-Sun Championship as the Buccaneers allowed a league-low 0.88 goals per game en route to a 8-5-4 record and 16 points in league play. Teammates Itode Fubara and David Geno gave ETSU four student-athletes on the first team - most by an A-Sun squad. Fubara was one of two unanimous choices to the first team.

FGCU, the 2013 Regular-Season Champions, placed three student-athletes on the first team with defender Aaron Guillen and forwards Felipe DeSousa and Henry Penagos. DeSousa was an unanimous selection to the team. The trio's teammate Isaiah Madrid captured the A-Sun Freshman of the Year honors by recording 11 points on four goals and three assists. Madrid becomes the third-straight Eagle to take the A-Sun Top-Freshman accolade.

Ashani Samuels and Ehjayson Henry gave Mercer - No. 4 seed in A-Sun Championship - two first-team members. It marks the second-straight season, both players landed on the first team.

Northern Kentucky's Brendan Murphy becomes the first-ever Norse to land on the A-Sun First Team All-Conference as the senior forward's four-game winning goals were tied for best in the A-Sun. NKU finished the season with a 9-4-6 record and tied for second in the A-Sun with 16 points.

Fourteen student-athletes landed on the A-Sun Second Team All-Conference with ETSU claiming three spots. All nine teams were represented on the second team.

2013 Men's Soccer First All-Conference Player Notes:
• Ryan Coulter: Holds A-Sun career record for shutouts at 24
• Aaron Guillen: Led Eagles backline to surrender only four goals in A-Sun play
• Ashani Samuels: Two-time A-Sun First Team All-Conference; started in 18 games
• Nate Hodges: Bucs' defense set a program record for GAA (0.82)
• Brendan Murphy: Netted four game-winning goals for Norse with five assists
• Omar Djabi: Led A-Sun in points (21) and goals (9); scored four game-winners
• Itode Fubara: Four-time All-Conference selection; one of seven players in A-Sun history to achieve feat
• Felipe DeSousa: Best for FGCU in goals with six and points (13)
• Ehjayson Henry: Second in A-Sun for goals (7) and points (16)
• David Geno: Owns 11 career game-winning goals; tied for 4th in A-Sun history
• Henry Penagos: Three of five goals this season led to FGCU victories

The 2013 Atlantic Sun Men's Soccer Championship begins on Wednesday, Nov. 13th on FGCU's campus with two first-round matches starting at 4 p.m. Both the first round and semifinal contests can be viewed for free on ASun.TV, while the A-Sun Championship Final on Sunday, Nov. 17th will be broadcast on ESPN3.