Buerchner Lands #ASunMTen Scholar-Athlete Accolade

Thursday, April 18, 2013

MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun Conference honored North Florida's Moritz Buerchner as the 2013 Atlantic Sun Conference Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year to highlight the league’s Academic All-Conference team.

Buerchner owns a 3.85 cumulative GPA as a Finance Major at North Florida now in his senior season with the Ospreys. The Haimhausen, Germany native has guided UNF to the 2013 Atlantic Sun Regular Season Championship and the No. 1 seed in the conference championship. His 10-4 record in singles play accompanied his 13-3 doubles mark.

The A-Sun introduced the new sport-by-sport Academic All-Conference teams in the 2011-12 academic year to recognize student-athletes who embody the conference’s mission of Building Winners for Life. All the members of the team boast a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (GPA) or better and participated in at least half of their team’s games.

Moritz Buerchner, University of North Florida
Senior | GPA: 3.85 | Major: Finance | Hometown: Haimhausen, Germany
• Posted a 10-4 singles record during the season and went 13-3 in doubles
• Led UNF to 8-0 league mark to claim 2013 A-Sun Regular-Season Title
• Teamed with Norbert Nemcsek to be ranked 15th in the nation for doubles
• Helped Ospreys to No. 67 team ranking by ITA

*Rogerio Ribeiro, ETSU (Sophomore | GPA: 3.71 | Business)
*Ricardo Pabon, ETSU (Redshirt Freshman | GPA: 3.85 | Management & Marketing)
*Roger Ordeig, ETSU (Junior | GPA: 3.78 | Psychology)
Jordi Vives, FGCU (Sophomore | GPA: 3.38 | Resort & Hospitality Management)
Matthias Kidler, USC Upstate (Junior | GPA: 3.31 | Business Administration)
Yvon Haessig, USC Upstate (Junior | GPA: 3.89 | Business Administration)
Chester Espie, Stetson (Sophomore | GPA: 3.63 | Finance)
* - Denotes unanimous selection

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.