A-Sun Men's Track and Field Championship Up For Grabs

Thursday, May 09, 2013

MACON, Ga. - The 2013 Atlantic Sun Outdoor Track and Field Championship is set to get underway on Friday, May 10th in in Jacksonville, Fla.

ETSU and Kennesaw State have had a back and forth battle as they are tied with three A-Sun Championship titles a piece in the last six years.

The Owls claimed the A-Sun Indoor Track and Field title earlier this year.

A-Sun Men's Track & Field Notes (#ASunTF):
  • Last year the Buccaneers took the title with a 2.5 point margin of victory over the Owls; the closest margin of victory in A-Sun history. In last year’s championship four A-Sun records were set in the meet.
  • USC Upstate holds top-marks in the league this season in four running events with Cameron Thomas holding the best time in the 800m (1:50.57) and the 1500m (3:55.04) and Gilbert Kemboi posting the top-times in the 5000m (14:09.86) and the 10,000m (29:15.69).
  • In the last three years a different team has won the 4x400 relay with Lipscomb crossing the line first last year with a time of 3:13.97. North Florida currently holds the fastest time in the relay this season with their time of 3:13.90 at the Florida Relays.
  • Lipscomb Tucker Peabody has landed four A-Sun Track Athlete of the Week honors this season for the Bisons. LU finished third in the 2012 A-Sun Championship. Peabody collected a first-place finish in the 200m at last year’s championship and currently holds the fastest time in the A-Sun this season in the 200m.
  • Northern Kentucky is competing in their first A-Sun Outdoor Track and Field meet. NKU’s Brendan Chwalek holds the best tie in the A-Sun this season in the 3000m steeple with a time of 9:11.98; nearly seven second faster than the second fastest time in the A-Sun.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.