Peabody, Dorsey and Abdullah Earn Championship Honors

Friday, May 17, 2013

MACON, Ga. - Following the conclusion of the 2013 Atlantic Sun Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Championship four awards were voted on by the league coaches.

After leading his team Kennesaw State to its fourth A-Sun Championship title, head Coach Andy Eggerth was named the Men’s Track and Field Coach of the Year. The Owls earned 259 total points in the meet to collect the victory by 57 points.

The Owls sophomore Andre Dorsey earned his second A-Sun Championship MVP award of the year as he scored 47 points in six field events at the A-Sun Championship to earn the Most Outstanding Field Athlete Honor. Dorsey took home two gold medals, a silver and a bronze at the A-Sun Championship. Dorsey registered first-place finishes in the triple jump with a leap of 15.72m and the javelin with a heave of 54.80m. He finished second in the high jump (2.06m) and third in the long jump (7.40m) at the championship.

Lipscomb’s Tucker Peabody landed the Most Outstanding Track Performer Honor by defending his title in the 200-meter dash in record-setting fashion. Peabody finished in 20.68 seconds crushing the previous A-Sun record set in 2005. He placed second in the 100-meter dash, tying the previous A-Sun record in the process. Peabody clinched 22 points for the Bisons in the A-Sun Championship. He led the Bisons to a gold medal in the 4x400 relay as he ran a 46.30 split.

The Most Outstanding Freshman went to Kennesaw State’s Bilal Abdullah as he earned the most points of the A-Sun Freshmen with 27 total; the second most of all athletes. Abdullah took gold the 110m hurdle with a personal record time of 14.51. He led the Owls to a silver in the 4x100m relay and bronze in the high jump (2.01m).

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.