A-Sun Summer Sessions: Outdoor Track & Field: #ASunTF

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun continued its success on the track with a successful Outdoor Track and Field season with several student-athletes creating landmarks for their university’s program.

The Jacksonville women’s squad continued its long reign of excellence as the Dolphins collected 230.5 points to win their eighth straight outdoor conference title. On the men’s side, Kennesaw State cruised to its fourth outdoor title with a team score of 249 points to top runner-up ETSU by 47 points.

The Dolphins’ Courtney Walker claimed the Most Outstanding Track Performer as she won the 400m in conference record setting time of 53.60 respectively. The Most Outstanding Field Performer honor went to Kennesaw State senior Michelle Quimby as she contributed 19 points to the Owls meet score.

KSU sophomore, Andre Dorsey won his second straight Outdoor Track and Field Championship MVP, becoming the first A-Sun athlete to repeat as MVP since 2007. An Owl has earned the championship MVP title five times in their eight seasons with the A-Sun.

Dorsey also seized the Most Outstanding Field Performer Honor, collecting 47 points for the Owls and taking home two gold medals, a silver and a bronze at the A-Sun Championship. Dorsey registered first-place finishes in the triple jump with a leap of 15.72m and the javelin with a heave of 54.80m. He finished second in the high jump (2.06m) and third in the long jump (7.40m) at the championship.

Lipscomb’s Tucker Peabody landed the Most Outstanding Track Performer Honor by defending his title in the 200-meter dash in record-setting fashion. Peabody finished in 20.68 seconds crushing the previous A-Sun record set in 2005. He placed second in the 100-meter dash, tying the previous A-Sun record in the process.

In total, 29 A-Sun student-athletes from five universities were eligible for the NCAA East Preliminaries, while 15 A-Sun Track and Field athletes qualified for the National NCAA Championship in Eugene, Oregon.

LU’s freshman steeplechase runner, Madeline Talbert and Kennesaw State’s Women’s 4x100 Relay Team made program history as the first females to qualify for the NCAA Championship for their programs.

Also joining the KSU 4x100 squad was ETSU’s women’s 4x100 relay team. The Buccaneers found two jumpers in the NCAA Championship in Tyler Stepp and Jason Johnson. Stepp marked an outstanding ninth-place finish the long jump in the championship. KSU’s Andre Dorsey competed beside Johnson in the Triple Jump.

The Dolphins had a trifecta of runners compete as Joanne Pierre and Bienna Freeman ran the 800m and Shanique Walker competed in the 100m hurdle. Freeman landed the A-Sun’s second top-ten finish in the championship after crossing the line 10th in the 800m.

Additional #ASunTF Notes:
• After leading his team Kennesaw State to its fourth A-Sun Championship title, head Coach Andy Eggerth was named the Men’s Track and Field Coach of the Year. On the women’s side, Head Coach Ron Grigg earned Coach of the Year honors.
• KSU’s Bilal Abdullah became the first men’s track and field athlete to win Most Outstanding Freshman in both the Indoor and Outdoor season.
• KSU’s Alicia Whittle captured Most Outstanding Freshman honors as she register 21.5 points; the most of the freshmen competitors.
• ETSU’s Adam Chase and Lipscomb’s Tessa Hoefle were honored as the A-Sun Scholar-Athletes of the year.
• Seven A-Sun Track and Field student-athletes were named Second-Team All-American by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) and eight more earned honorable mention Accolades.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.