Atlantic Sun Holds Fall Administrative Meetings

Friday, October 19, 2007

MACON, Ga. – On October 8-9, the Atlantic Sun Conference held its fall administrative meetings on the campus of Mercer University and at the Hilton Garden Inn. The meetings included the awarding of championship bids, the expansion of the championship fields and the formation of a standing Marketing Committee.

The Management Committee selected the sites for two fall 2008 championships and two spring 2009 championships. They awarded the 2008 and 2009 men’s soccer championships to Campbell the women’s championships to Kennesaw State in 2008 and 2009. The Committee chose Campbell’s Keith Hills County Club as the site for the men’s golf championship in 2009. Keith Hills will host for first time since 2004 and third time overall. On the women’s side, Stetson and the Central Florida Sports Commission’s bid won and will host the 2009 championships at Victoria Hills Golf Club. The committee approved a change in policy so that beginning in 2009-10 eight teams would advance to the conference championship tournament in all team sports.

The conference announced and recognized those who had worked at an institution in the conference for at least 10 consecutive years. Those people who met the conditions would become part of the Atlantic Sun’s 10-plus club. For their efforts, the members of the club received polo shirts in their schools color with the Atlantic Sun’s logo. Among the initial recipients were Mercer’s AD, Bobby Pope and SWA, Sybil Blalock; Stetson’s AD, Jeff Altier and SWA, Jan Usher and Jacksonville’s SWA, Marsha Haskew, all of whom were in attendance at the meetings.

The committee voted to make the Marketing Committee a standing committee. They are charged with the various aspects of marketing and branding the conference.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is a 12-member league committed to Building Winners for Life, with a focus on academic and athletic integrity and a balance between the two for the student-athlete, and maintaining a high level of sportsmanship. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun encompasses six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun consists of some of the most dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Gardner-Webb University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.