ETSU Captures Second Consecutive Bill Bibb Trophy

Monday, May 19, 2008

MACON, Ga. - Following the conclusion of both the 2008 Atlantic Sun Baseball regular season and the Outdoor Track and Field Championships, the ETSU Buccaneers have compiled enough points to claim their third straight Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy and the second Bill Bibb Trophy in as many years, league officials announced today.

The Sherman Day Trophy, awarded to the school that earns the most women's points throughout the school year, is headed to the state of Florida for the sixth time in the last seven years. The Dolphins earned championships in both indoor and outdoor track, as well as a second place finish in tennis to pick up 84 of their 199.5 points and won the closest all-sports race in 16 years by 1.5 points over Belmont and 4.5 points over defending champion ETSU. The award for the women’s all-sport race is named in honor of Dr. Sherman Day, a founding member of the New South Women's Athletic Conference in 1985. Day served as the commissioner of the NSWAC from 1987 until the league merged with the A-Sun in 1991.

ETSU has collected enough points in the men's all-sports race to be tabbed the recipients of the Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy for the third consecutive season, named in honor of Dr. Jesse C. Fletcher, a founding member of the Atlantic Sun and the conference’s first president. The Buccaneers have won one title this season to go along with second place finishes in cross country, indoor track and field and golf to jump to the top of the standings with 160.5 points. ETSU joins UCF, Florida International, Georgia Southern, Georgia State and Northeast Louisiana (now UL Monroe) as three-consecutive-year winners of the Fletcher Trophy.

ETSU's combined first and third place finishes accrued enough points for the Buccaneers to repeat as combined all-sports champions, securing the Bill Bibb trophy with 355.5 points. The award is named for former commissioner Bill Bibb, who served the Atlantic Sun membership for 17 years; the longest tenured commissioner in A-Sun history.

Points for the all-sports standings are awarded on a descending basis in three-point increments and are established according to the number of teams participating in each sport. In team sports, points are awarded based on a school’s regular season finish. In individual sports, such as cross country, golf, and track and field, points are awarded based on their A-Sun Championship standings. In the event of a tie, the two schools split the combined points.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is a 12-member league committed to Building Winners for Life, with a focus on academic and athletic integrity and a balance between the two for the student-athlete, and maintaining a high level of sportsmanship. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun encompasses six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun consists of some of the most dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Gardner-Webb University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.