A-Sun Women's Basketball Season Preview: Lipscomb

Thursday, October 27, 2011

MACON, Ga. - The 2011-12 Atlantic Sun Conference Women's Basketball Season gets underway on Friday, Nov. 11th and prior to that date the A-Sun office will preview each of the ten member institutions.

Lipscomb's Jonathan Seamon sits down with the Lady Bisons Head Coach Frank Bennett in the Lipscomb season preview.

Women's Basketball Capsule
Coaches Poll Predicted Finish: 10th
Media Poll Predicted Finish: 10th
2010-11 Overall Record (A-Sun): 9-21 (6-14; 9th)
Season Schedule // Roster

• The Lady Bisons return five of their top-seven scorers from last season, which accounted for 60.2 percent of last year's offense. The bunch is led by Preseason All-Conference selection, Anna Bowers, at 13.2 points per outing with Hannah Phillips (8.0) and Brittany Duerk (5.7) also returning. Leah McAlister (5.5) and Jess Reece (5.3) also chipped in for Lipscomb last season.
• Lipscomb must find a way to replace Jenna Bartsokas, who led the team in scoring at 14.9 PPG, while also leading the team in assists (2.9) and steals (1.6). Bartsokas finished her Lipscomb career with 1,411 points, which ranks 25th most in A-Sun history.
• Head Coach Frank Bennett enters his 32nd year at helm of the Lipscomb program, which makes him the longest tenured A-Sun coach at their current institution. During that time, Bennett has amassed a record of 577-414. Only Kennesaw State's Colby Tilley has spent more years on the sideline as he has 35 years of head coaching experience. Tilley enters his 17th season with the Owls.
• In the 2010-11 season, Lipscomb shot 200 more three-pointers than their opponents over the course of the season and made 54 more. As a team, Lipscomb shot 31.8 percent from behind the arc. Bowers led the team in three-pointers made at 2.8 per contest, while six total players made at least 10 threes for the season.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.