Lady Bucs Rally for 3-2 Win vs. Owls in A-Sun Championship

Thursday, November 17, 2011

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - The fifth-seeded ETSU Buccaneers rallied from a 2-0 deficit to defeat No. 4 seed Kennesaw State, 3-2, in the 2011 Atlantic Sun Volleyball Championship First Round. Freshman Ivey Rice led the Lady Bucs charge with 22 kills in the match on .455 attack percentage - both of which were team-highs.

First-Team All-Conference member, Megan Devine chipped in 20 kills and 14 digs for her 15th double-double of the season to help ETSU (15-15;7-6) to its second-straight semifinal appearance. Freshman Meredith Hardy - an all-freshman selection - finished the game with a match-high six total blocks.

The Owls (13-16; 8-5) opened the match with a 25-17 set one victory with a .414 team attack percentage. KSU’s momentum carried over to set two as Kennesaw State earned a 25-18 win with a .455 attack percentage. Through two sets, the Owls tallied seven total team blocks led by second-team member Justin Young’s four blocks in the match.

ETSU's rally began in the third set with a 25-23 win to extend the match. In set four, ETSU pushed the match to the deciding fifth set with a 25-21 win. The Lady Bucs hit .312 in the penultimate set with 15 total kills. Set five saw ETSU capture the come-back victory with a .312 attack percentage, while the Lady Bucs defense held the Owls to .150.

ETSU's win marks only the third time in the current tournament format that the five-seed has advanced to the semifinals. The last win also came at the hands of ETSU in 2008 with a 3-2 victory.

The Lady Bucs advances to the A-Sun Championship Semifinals for the second-straight season and faces top-seeded Belmont on Friday at 7:30 p.m. CT.

All games of the 2011 Atlantic Sun Volleyball Championship are broadcasted for free on ASun.TV.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.