A-Sun Player of the Year Devine Garners AVCA Honor

Wednesday, December 05, 2012

MACON, Ga. – The 2012 A-Sun Volleyball Player of the Year Megan Devine was named an Honorable Mention selection to the 2012 American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I South Region team, the AVCA announced Tuesday.

Devine, who was also the 2012 A-Sun Preseason Player of the Year and the 2012 A-Sun Volleyball Championship Most Valuable Player, led East Tennessee State to the program’s first A-Sun Volleyball Championship with a 3-2 victory over North Florida on Nov. 17. She was the only player in the conference to achieve more than 500 kills with 547, which led the conference overall while she also tallied the most in conference matches (291). She set A-Sun records for most double-doubles in a season (25) and in a conference season (15), and for the most attack attempts in a season (1,586) and in conference play (839). Devine is 337 kills away from becoming the A-Sun all-time career leader in kills, currently ranking fifth with 1,410.

The AVCA South Region honors include a 14-member All-Region team, a South Region Freshman of the Year, and a six-member Honorable Mention team. Devine is one of the six student-athletes to earn the South Region Honorable Mention honor and is the only A-Sun player to do so. The accolade is the latest in her successful career, as she was the 2010 A-Sun Freshman of the Year and a member of the 2010 A-Sun All-Freshman Team, a two-time A-Sun First-Team All-Conference selection, a two-time All-Tournament selection and a 2012 Academic All-Conference selection. Devine currently posts a 3.556 grade point average majoring in physical education.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.