Dotson, Devine 2013 Volleyball Senior CLASS Nominees

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Two of the A-Sun's outstanding volleyball student-athletes – East Tennessee State's Megan Devine and Lipscomb’s Caitlin Dotson – are also two of 30 NCAA women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court selected today as a candidate for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate volleyball.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. Of the 30 candidates, 10 have grade point averages of 3.5 or higher and 19 are American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Americans.

Devine is the reigning A-Sun Player of the Year and also was Most Valuable Player of the 2012 A-Sun Championship and a member of the 2012 Academic All-Conference Team for volleyball. She also received Honorable Mention selection to the 2012 AVCA Division I South Region team.

Devine registered an annual GPA of 3.967 in 2012 while majoring in Physical Education. She has also devoted her time giving back to the community by helping out at Dawn of Hope, Mentors in School, Special Olympics, Little Bucs, and with the Kingsport Volleyball Club. Since playing for the Bucs, Devine has been very dependable and shown great courage as she has played in all but one of the 102 total games in her career, while she has played in 100 consecutive matches dating back to the 2010 season.

Dotson is also the reigning A-Sun Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors and was a second-team All-Atlantic Sun performer on the court last year. She joins Devine as one of the 10 on the list with a 3.5 GPA or higher, posting a 3.79 GPA with a major in psychology and a minor in biology. She plans to be a physician’s assistant. She earned Atlantic Sun Conference All-Academic Honors in 2011, 2012, 2013. Dotson has been named an Atlantic Sun Conference Scholar (completion of 48 hours with a GPA higher than 3.4) in both 2012 and 2013.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December. The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun footprint reaches into seven of the top media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.