Mercer and Northern Kentucky Capture a Spot in the WBI

Monday, March 18, 2013

MACON, Ga. - Mercer and Northern Kentucky have received a postseason berth to participate in the Women's Basketball Invitational (WBI). The Bears landed the top-seed in the West Region and host McNeese State in the first round on Thursday at 7 PM EST. The Norse earned a No. 4 seed and are set to host the College of Charleston on Wednesday, March 20th at 7 PM EST.

The WBI is a 16-team tournament that is entering its fourth year.

Mercer marked a 14-game win improvement from six wins in 2011-12 to 20 wins this season, which tied for the best improvement in the country. The Bears recorded their first 20-win season since the 1991-1992 season with a 20-11 record.

The Bears are led by First Team All-Atlantic Sun and A-Sun All-Tournament Team selection, Precious Bridges, who led the league in scoring with 17.1 points per game.

McNeese State is a member of the Southland Conference and finished the 2012-13 campaign with a 16-14 overall record. The Cowgirls are making their third-straight postseason appearance after earning bids to the NCAA Tournament in each of the last two seasons by way of winning the Southland Conference Championship.

McNeese State is led by senior twins Ashlyn and Caitlyn Baggett who rank first and second on the squad averaging 18.7 and 14.4 points per game, respectively.

Northern Kentucky posted a 15-12 record in its first season of Division I competition to earn the berth to the WBI. The Norse finished 12-6 in the Atlantic Sun Conference and won nine of their last 11 games to earn the postseason berth.

Northern Kentucky closed the regular season with a four-game winning streak. The Norse defeated a pair of A-Sun teams (Stetson and Mercer) that won at least 20 games this season.

College of Charleston enters the WBI with a 15-15 overall record. The Cougars finished 11-9 in the Southern Conference. This will mark the first meeting between the two programs.

Past champions of the WBI include Appalachian State (2010), Alabama-Birmingham (2011) and Minnesota (2012).

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.