Hoefle Earns Third Women's #ASunXC Scholar-Athlete Honor

Monday, November 11, 2013

MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun Conference honored Lipscomb's Tessa Hoefle as the 2013 Atlantic Sun Conference Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year to highlight the league’s Academic All-Conference team.

Hoefle has earned the Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year Honor for three years in a row, making her the only harrier to win the award since its existence.

Hoefle secured First Team All-Conference honors after finishing fifth at the A-Sun Championship.

The A-Sun introduced the new sport-by-sport Academic All-Conference teams in the 2011-12 academic year to recognize student-athletes who embody the conference’s mission of Building Winners for Life. All the members of the team boast a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (GPA) or better and participated in at least half of their team’s games.

Atlantic Sun Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Quick Bio Accomplishments
 Tessa Hoefle

• Senior
• Winnebago, Ill..
• English

• Achieved a 4.00 GPA as an English Major
• Earned the 2012 A-Sun Track and Field Scholar Athlete Honor
• Fourth overall A-Sun Scholar-Athlete Honors
• Crossed the line fifth in the A-Sun Championship
• Ran the course in 17:58.47 to lead LU to the champion
• Helped the Bisons collect their third A-Sun Championship              

Jessica Palmer, ETSU (Junior | GPA: 3.78 | Chemistry)
Courtney Corradetti, FGCU (Sophomore | GPA: 4.00 | Accounting)
Svenja Meyer, Jacksonville (Senior | GPA: 3.89 | Accounting)
Claire Boher, Kennesaw State (Sophomore | GPA: 4.00 | English)
Kaitlyn Llewellyn, Lipscomb (Junior | GPA: 4.00 | Exercise Science)
Kelly Johnson, Northern Kentucky (Senior| GPA: 3.93 | Education)

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.