Wahl Guides ETSU to First-Round Lead at A-Sun Championship

Monday, April 09, 2012

NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. – ETSU opened the 2012 Atlantic Sun Women’s Golf Championship at the Venetian Bay Golf Club atop the leaderboard with a team total of 290 with freshman Gabriella Wahl bolting to the front of the pack with an opening round, 67. Wahl carded five birdies on the day – four on the back nine – to tie the all-time A-Sun individual 18-hole record with former Buccaneer Laura Jansone (2008).

The Bucs’ 18-hole team total also broke the program record by two strokes and is tied for the fourth-best in A-Sun history.

Atlantic Sun Insider: Wahl's Secret to Success

Wahl’s teammate Sian Evans, the 2011 A-Sun Freshman of the Year, aided the Buccaneers charge with a one-under-par, 71, with two birdies on the back nine to put the sophomore in a tie for fourth place. Kennesaw State (292) and Stetson (293), the three-time defending champions, narrowly trail the Bucs after the opening day of action.

Alexandria Buelow, the defending individual medalist, posted the best Hatter round at two-under to tie Kennesaw State’s Ket Preamchuen for second place. Preamchuen’s sister, Kaew, fired an even-par 72 for sole possession of seventh place moving into Tuesday’s round. Buelow’s teammate Lauren Cate, a 2011 Second Team All-Conference member, opened the tournament at one-under-par to tie for fourth.

Mercer sits in fourth place with a program-best 18-hole team total of 298 to open the conference championship. The Bears’ team total broke last Bear’s opening round aggregate of 300. Sophomore Lacey Fears led the Mercer attack tied for fourth place with a one-under-par, 71.

Rounding out the top-five teams is FGCU with an opening round of 312 behind the play of Fabienne Haremza, the 2011 A-Sun Championship Runner-up, who carded a three-over-par, 75. Spots six through nine were separated by only five strokes as USC Upstate (316) sits in sixth place ahead of Jacksonville (317), Belmont (319) and Lipscomb (321).

The second round of the A-Sun Women’s Golf Championship begins Tuesday at 8 a.m.

Follow all the Atlantic Sun Women's Golf action on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.