Owls Win First A-Sun Women's Golf Title; Wahl Survives Playoff

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. – Kennesaw State held on to win the Atlantic Sun Women’s Golf Championship on Wednesday at the Venetian Bay Golf Club for the program’s first-ever A-Sun title. The Owls finished in the top-four in the past three A-Sun Championships, but broke through the barrier to claim the top spot after a final round, 295 (+7). The Owls capped the three-day championship with an A-Sun record-low 871 (+7).

KSU’s Ket Preamchuen led the Owls’ charge finishing in fourth place (216; E), while Ines Lescudier carded a final round two-under par, 70, to claim fifth place and sit at one-over for the tournament. The Owls’ Lea Charpier joined the duo in the top-10 in a tie for seventh at three-over-par for the championship.

ETSU’s Gabriella Wahl survived a two-hole playoff with Mercer’s Lacey Fears after the duo tied through 54 holes at 213 (-3). Wahl fired a final round 73, while Fears shot 72 to set up the showdown between the two. Wahl and Fears tied with pars on the opening hole before the Bucs’ freshman registered a par on the second hole to best Fears’ bogey. Wahl is the first freshman to win the A-Sun Championship since 2003 when Georgia State's Lisbeth Meincke accomplished the feat with a four-over-par performance.

With Wahl’s top performance, the Bucs followed Kennesaw State in second place with a final total of 875 (+11). Wahl was joined in the top-10 by teammates Mayte Vizcarrondo (+2; 6th) and Sian Evans (219; T7th).

Fears’ effort guided Mercer to its best team total in program history (880; +16) at the A-Sun Championship and tied the 2007 squad for best team finish with third place. Sarah Louie Brown joined Fears in the top-10 with a four-over-par, 220, good for ninth place.

The three-time defending champions, Stetson Hatters (890; +26) were unable to mount a comeback on the final day and finished in fourth place. Junior Alexandria Buelow fired a one-over-par, 73, on Wednesday to finish at one-under for the tournament in third place with a three-round total of 215. Senior Lauren Cate claimed tenth place (221; +5) for the third top-10 showing in her career.

Jacksonville (926; +62) turned in its best showing since 2008 when the Dolphins also placed fifth. JU’s Natalie Schmett set the program record for lowest 18-hole score with a 69 on the final day of action. Belmont (932; +68) posted its best finish since 2008 with a sixth-place performance after turning in a team total of 303 on the final day to set the program record for lowest team score in 18 holes.

FGCU took seventh with a final round 319 to finish at 939 (+75). The Eagles’ top performer was Chelsea Guoynes in 14th place with a three-day total of 227 (+11). Lipscomb and USC Upstate trailed the Eagles in eight and ninth place, respectively, with totals of 951 (+87) and 954 (+90).

2012 Atlantic Sun Women’s Golf All-Tournament Team
• *Gabriella Wahl, ETSU – 213, -3 (A-Sun Individual Medalist)
• Lacey Fears, Mercer – 213, -3
• Alexandria Buelow, Stetson – 215, -1
• Ket Preamchuen, Kennesaw State – 216, E
• Ines Lescudier, Kennesaw State – 217, +1
* - Won two-hole playoff with Fears

Follow all the Atlantic Sun Women's Golf action on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.