ETSU's Kerns, FGCU Headline Women's Soccer All-Conference

Friday, October 26, 2012

MACON, Ga. – Seven FGCU women’s soccer student-athletes adorned the 2012 Atlantic Sun All-Conference First and Second Teams, announced Friday by the league office. ETSU’s Ramey Kerns took home the Player of the Year Honors as the Buccaneers claimed the award for the second-straight season.

Headlining the Eagles’ septet is senior defender, Ashley Ciesielczyk, who was tabbed the A-Sun Defensive Player of the Year – the third-straight year an Eagles has won the honors. Joining Ciesielcyk on the first team was sophomore forward Shannen Wacker and freshman midfielder Ally Kasun – the lone unanimous choice to the all-conference team.

ETSU’s Kerns has rewritten the A-Sun record books this season as her 20 goals and 44 points rank seventh and 12th respectively for the conference single-season records. Kerns’ teammate Sarah Zadrazil received the Freshman of the Year honors after racking up four goals and 10 assists in the midfield. Zadrazil is the second-straight Buc to earn the freshman distinction.

After stopping 122 shots this season, USC Upstate’s Sarah Plantz earned the first-ever Goalkeeper of the Year honor. Plantz averaged a league-best 7.18 saves per contest to earn the Spartans’ first-ever women’s soccer superlative award and first-team honors.

Mercer, the two seed in the A-Sun Championship, landed two student-athletes on the all-conference first team with junior defender Devon Fry and senior midfielder Patricia-Anne Upson. For Upson, it marks her second all-conference selection.

Jacksonville, Kennesaw State and North Florida each earned one first-team all-conference position with Alexandra Lee, Katrina Frost and Carolina Lencina taking the honors. JU’s Lee helped the Dolphins’ defense to five shutouts this season and only 1.05 goals against per game.

KSU’s Frost tied for second in the league for points and goals as she tallied 23 points and 10 goals for the Owls. North Florida’s Lencina received first-team honors for the third-straight year after netting five goals and dishing out three assists for the Ospreys.

Zadrazil and Kasun joined Mercer’s Maggie Cropp, Kennesaw State’s Danielle Gray and Stetson’s Mara Keomanivane as unanimous choices to A-Sun All-Freshman team.

FGCU’s Head Coach Jim Blankenship was named the 2012 A-Sun Coach of the Year for the first time in his career.

The 2012 Atlantic Sun Women’s Soccer Championship begins on Saturday with two first-round matches as Kennesaw State hosts North Florida and ETSU welcomes Jacksonville. Both games are scheduled for 7 p.m. kickoff. The tournament continues on Nov. 2-4th on the campus of FGCU with the semifinals and championship final.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.