UNF, KSU and ETSU Highlight All-Conference Team

Thursday, April 19, 2012

MACON, Ga. – With a perfect 8-0 mark at No. 1 singles North Florida’s Aline Berkenbrock picked up her second 2012 Atlantic Sun Conference Player of the Year honors.

Berkenbrock dropped only three singles matches all season, while earning 11 wins to help the Ospreys claim the regular season title outright. Berkenbrock and partner Lorena Aviles swept conference opponents in doubles play and are nationally ranked by the ITA at No. 66.

North Florida’s Audra Cohen nabbed the Coach of the Year honors, doing so in her first year with the Ospreys. Cohen led North Florida to its first-ever undefeated season in conference play and a 14-4 overall record.

Kennesaw State’s Virginie Stein took home the Freshman of the Year honors while earning a perfect 9-0 record in conference play at No. 3 singles. Stein also went 8-1 at No. 1 doubles with partner Alexandra Apostu. Apostu and Stein’s lone loss came from Berkenbrock and Aviles.

Kennesaw State’s Vera Shkundina joined Berkenbrock as the only other unanimous selection to the first-team all-conference team. This is the senior’s third consecutive first-team selection. Joining Shkundina on the first-team are teammates Apostu and Stein.

In addition to the coach and player of the year honors, North Florida also added a Lorena Aviles and Danielle Day to the all-conference team.

ETSU’s Paula Jaime and Guilia Andreazza also earned first-team honors with Jaime going 7-1 at No. 1 singles and Andreazza going 7-2 at No. 2 singles in conference play. The Buccaneers also added three players to the second-team all-conference with Marine Wieliczko, Diana Navrostska and Jessica Brumit.

North Florida’s doubles squads swept all three double’s selections after all three pairs went 9-0 in conference play.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.