Bucs' Choo Tabbed #ASunWTen Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Thursday, April 18, 2013

MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun Conference honored ETSU's Lyn Yee Choo as the 2013 A-Sun Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year to highlight the league’s Academic All-Conference team.

Choo owns a 4.00 cumulative GPA as a Pre-Pharmacy Major at East Tennessee State University now in her redshirt freshman season with the Buccaneers. Choo is currently riding a 15-match winning streak in singles play, while she has teamed with Anna Gerbasi to earn a No. 63 ranking in the ITA National Rankings. She posted 8-0 records in both singles and doubles play against conference opponents.

The A-Sun introduced the new sport-by-sport Academic All-Conference teams in the 2011-12 academic year to recognize student-athletes who embody the conference’s mission of Building Winners for Life. All the members of the team boast a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (GPA) or better and participated in at least half of their team’s games.

Lyn Yee Choo, East Tennessee State University
Redshirt Freshman | GPA: 4.0 | Major: Pre-Pharmacy | Hometown: Kuching, Malaysia
• Posted a combined 16-0 record in singles and doubles conference matches
• Currently ranked 63rd nationally with teammate Anna Gerbasi by ITA
• Enters postseason play with a 15-match win streak in singles play
• Owns a 17-1 overall singles record

*Giulia Andreazza, ETSU (GPA: 3.98 | Jr. | Business)
*Diana Bukajeva, Stetson (GPA: 3.81 | Jr. | Business Administration)
Sarah Means, FGCU (GPA: 3.96 | So. | Pre-Management)
Alexandra Apostu, Kennesaw State (GPA: 3.69 | Jr. | Nursing)
Virginie Stein, Kennesaw State (GPA: 4.0 | So. | Biochemistry)
Simona Weymar, North Florida (GPA: 3.63 | Jr. | Business Management)
Julie Bell, USC Upstate (GPA: 3.85 | Sr. | Biology)
* - Denotes unanimous selection

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.