UNF's Aviles Named #ASunWTen Player of the Year

Thursday, April 18, 2013

MACON, Ga. – North Florida’s Lorena Aviles earned the spotlight for the 2013 Atlantic Sun Women’s Tennis All-Conference honors as the senior was tabbed the Player of the Year. ETSU’s Lyn Yee Choo captured the A-Sun Freshman of the Year award, while her coach – Yaser Zaatini – received his first Coach of the Year accolade on the women’s side and fourth overall.

Aviles becomes the second-straight Osprey to take home the award and third in the past four seasons as former teammate Aline Berkenbrock won in 2010 and 2012. She boasts a 15-3 singles record, the third-most wins in the conference, including a 7-1 mark in A-Sun play in the No. 1 spot. Her 11 doubles wins at No. 1 ranked second-best in the A-Sun.

Choo, who was also tabbed the Scholar-Athlete of the Year, joined Aviles on the First Team All-Conference squad. She went undefeated in league play with identical 8-0 records in singles and doubles play as she became the sixth-straight A-Sun Freshman of the Year to land on the first team. Choo is also the second Buccaneer to earn Freshman of the Year honors.

Joining Choo on the top squad are teammates Antonia Kolovou and Giulia Andreazza. Kolovou posted a 12-2 record at the top singles including a 7-1 mark in league singles play. Andreazza added a 6-0 record at No. 3 singles in league play as the trio guided the Bucs to their first undefeated record (8-0) in A-Sun play since 2010.

Stetson freshman Andrea Crespo landed First Team All-Conference honors as well as a unanimous selection to the All-Freshman team after a 6-1 campaign in conference play at No. 1 singles.

Aviles’ teammate Simona Weymar earned her third-straight selection to the all-conference team with a combined 25 wins in singles and doubles play. For Weymar, it marks her first time on the first team after two-straight seasons as a second-team member.

Wrapping up the A-Sun First Team are two Owls from Kennesaw State, Virginie Stein and Alexandra Apostu. Stein, the 2012 A-Sun Freshman of the Year, received first-team honors for the second-straight year after a 5-2 record at No. 1 singles. Apostu won 12 conference matches with a perfect 6-0 record at No. 3 singles and a 6-1 mark at No. 1 doubles for her second first-team selection.

The 2013 Atlantic Sun Women's Tennis Championship is scheduled to get underway on Friday, April 19th in Johnson City, Tenn.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.