North Florida Opens NCAA Championships at No. 6 Miami

Thursday, May 09, 2013

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- The University of North Florida women's tennis team will take part in its third NCAA Women's Tennis Championship in four years this weekend, as it travels to Coral Gables, Fla. to face the No. 6 Miami Hurricanes in the first round at 2 p.m. on Friday, May 10.

In their last match action, the Ospreys took home their second-straight Atlantic Sun Conference Championship, knocking off top-seeded East Tennessee State, 4-2, on April 21. The 19-day layoff will be UNF's longest break of the 2013 season.

Miami, UNF's first-round opponent, enters the NCAA Championships having just won its first-ever Atlantic Coast Conference Championship by way of a 4-1 victory over No. 30 Florida State. The Hurricanes have racked up a 20-5 overall record in 2013, including an 8-3 mark in ACC play. Miami also proved difficult to beat on its home courts, tallying nine wins in 11 matches at its home in Coral Gables.

A trio of Hurricanes has tallied at least 17 dual match singles victories this season. Clementina Riobueno (20-3), Stephanie Wagner (18-6) and Melissa Bolivar (17-3) have all excelled for Miami in a myriad of positions throughout the lineup.

This is the second-straight year that the Ospreys have traveled to Miami for the first round of the NCAA Tournament, as UNF fell 4-0 to the Hurricanes in 2012. The two teams have also met in each of the previous two regular seasons.

After earning the match-clinching point in the A-Sun Championship, senior Melanie Aguirre carries the team's longest singles winning streak into the postseason, having won each of her last seven matches. Aguirre's fellow senior and doubles partner Lorena Aviles has won her previous six contests to raise her season record to 16-3, all at the No. 1 position.

Junior Simona Weymar and sophomore Rebeca Pereira own the squad's longest doubles winning streak, as the duo has won all 11 matches they have played together in 2013.

The winner of Friday's match will face the winner of the 11 a.m. contest between No. 30 Purdue and No. 34 South Carolina in a 1 p.m. contest on Saturday.