Atlantic Sun Summer Sessions: Men's & Women's Tennis

Monday, July 08, 2013

MACON, Ga. - For the second-straight year, the same two programs squared off in the Atlantic Sun Tennis Championship Finals in Johnson City, Tenn. as North Florida and ETSU both claimed conference titles.

The Buccaneers utilized the doubles point to propel the squad to a 4-2 victory vs. the Ospreys to earn the program’s seventh-straight A-Sun Men’s Tennis title. ETSU now ranks first all-time in the conference for A-Sun Championship titles breaking a tie with UALR.

North Florida entered the championship as the top seed with a perfect 8-0 record in league play – the sixth undefeated season in A-Sun history – to capture the program’s second A-Sun Regular Season trophy. Stetson, FGCU, USC Upstate and Lipscomb also participated in the conference championship.

In the opening day of the championship, Lipscomb and FGCU earned their program’s first-ever postseason wins as the Bisons defeated Stetson, while the Eagles downed USC Upstate and A-Sun Player of the Year, Matthias Kidler.

On the women’s side, North Florida earned its third league championship in the past four seasons with a 4-2 triumph against the hosting Lady Bucs. The Ospreys became the first team since 2002 to win three A-Sun titles in four seasons.

Melanie Aguirre locked up the championship with a three-set victory at No. 5 singles after dropping the opening frame. The Ospreys fell behind ETSU early in singles play with losses at No. 4 and No. 6 spots, but a victory by A-Sun Player of the Year, Lorena Aviles at No. 1 vs. ETSU’s Antonia Kolovou in straight sets pushed UNF over the edge for the team title.

ETSU posted the fifth undefeated regular-season record at 8-0 and locked up the top seed going into the conference championship. Making its first appearance in the A-Sun Championship, USC Upstate earned the three seed and capitalized with the program’s first championship victory with a 4-3 thriller vs. Kennesaw State. For the 11th-straight championship, Stetson earned a victory on the women’s side as the Hatters defeated fifth-seeded FGCU, 4-3, in the quarterfinals.

In NCAA postseason play, North Florida squared off against Miami for the second-straight season. The Hurricanes bested the Ospreys, 4-0, over a two-day span as rain delayed the match. ETSU made the trek to Nashville to face Vanderbilt on the men’s side, but fell to the Commodores, 4-0.

North Florida’s doubles team of Moritz Buerchner and Norbert Nemcsek found postseason success as the duo became UNF's first-ever representative at the NCAA Division I Tennis Championships. The pair won their first match vs. Chip Cox and Tsvetan Mihov of South Carolina, 6-2, 6-2, before falling to Georgia’s tandem of Hernus Pieters and Ben Wagland in the Round of 16.

Additional Notes:
• North Florida’s Lorena Aviles became the second straight Osprey to earn the A-Sun Women’s Tennis Player of the Year honor following former teammate Aline Berkenbrock. It marked the first time since 2001 that a program win the title in back-to-back years.
• USC Upstate’s Matthias Kidler became the first Spartan in program history to win the A-Sun Player of the Year title after finishing the regular season with a 15-5 mark at No. 1 singles.
• ETSU’s Lyn Yee Choo earned several honors in 2013 as the redshirt-freshman was tabbed the Freshman of the Year, A-Sun Scholar-Athlete of the Year and First Team All-Conference. Choo became the second-straight Buccaneer to win the Scholar-Athlete award.
• UNF’s Moritz Buerchner earned the A-Sun Men’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year accolade after compiling a 3.85 cumulative GPA as a Finance Major. Buerchner also landed on the First Team All-Conference for the fourth time in his career.
• Stetson’s Simon Julin landed the Freshman of the Year title on the men’s side as he became the first Hatter to win the award since 2007. Julin owned a 15-2 singles record, which included a 13-match winning streak to begin the season.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.